• Archives

  • Post Catagories

  • .::Admin Tools::.

  • I review for the O'Reilly Blogger Review Program

Happy New Year?

Sorry, this blog has been a bit devoid of activity recently. I have been a bit busy with other things. I couldn’t think of a good title for what I was about to write so I just decided to go with what everyone else seems to be saying to one another. I know that this time of year can be a tough time for people in recovery. What with Christmas and the New Year, the party season is upon us, many people in recovery struggle with this and only yesterday word came to me that someone I knew had lapsed / relapsed. I was talking with my girlfriend on the phone and she also found out that two people she knows had fallen over as well. I wish them all the best and I hope they pull through; all this did get me thinking though. How did I make it through without drinking / using?

My only answer to that question is a mixture of taking everything one day at a time and blind ignorance. It certainly wasn’t the Christmas TV. More cheese Gromit! No way Wallis me old pal, there’s enough on the telly box thanks!

I guess I just got through by doing the stuff that I want to do when I wanted to do it. I know that there is a lot of partying and the associated Drinking and Drugging going on out there, but I just see this as something other people do. I am happy talking / meeting with my girlfriend or hacking away on my workstation. I also had the added bonus of my brother coming to visit for Christmas. We went fishing on Christmas eve and had a lot of fun.

Looking back on the year was ok. The first half of the year was rubbish, living in a Bed n Breakfast and then having it pulled out from under me only to end up on the streets. The second half of the year has been great though, I got off the streets, I achieved sobriety, got with a program, found friends and got the best Christmas present ever when I found love. So I guess on the whole 2008 has been a fifty fifty mix…a bit like life I guess. What am I going to do this year, not sure really just take one day at a time…if you really want to know check back here in a years time. I’ll be sure to tell you how I got on 🙂

Leave a Reply

