• Archives

  • Post Catagories

  • .::Admin Tools::.

  • I review for the O'Reilly Blogger Review Program

Patience, the painful virtue

Patience, is a virtue…I can still remember this as being my fathers mantra as I grew up. I always found it a bit of a puzzling piece of wisdom coming from the mouth of such an outwardly inpatient man. But never the less it did stick with me, I guess most alcoholics like me have to learn to be patient. It’s five in the morning and the off licence doesn’t open until six, and even then getting your hands on the booze can be a chore, is the guy who sneaks it to you under the counter before nine on today? Can I handle the DT’s for another hour? Will I have to wait until nine?

Getting sober (sadly) does not mean an end to patience, like the rest of the world we have to wait for things, and sometimes that wait can be even more painful than the one that I just described. The current case in question being the wait that myself and Tania are currently enduring. Those of you who know us well will know that we are starting a family, and that our current shared accommodation is just not fit for adults never mind our soon to be born baby boy. Our current landlord is aware of this and has found us a much better property locally. The only catch is that we have to wait until it is ready, and this involves…you guessed it…Patience.

Every time something goes wrong in the house that we live in (For example; Running out of electricity on the key meter because someone would rather spend their money on drugs than electricity) both Tania and myself tell each other (by candle light) that we only have to put up with this for a little longer and that we will be able to live by our standards soon.

Please don’t get me wrong, I’m not a snob. I just want whats best for Tania, Jake and our baby. I guess the point of this little observational rant is to let anyone know who’s interested, that it is not always possible to walk away from the Drug and Alcohol culture that used to be a part of our lives in active addiction…well it is, but it may well take time perseverance and…yup….you guessed it patience.

One Response

  1. Once again (and this is starting to scare me!!) you have read my thoughts. I know what we are going through is only temporary babe but it can be hard sometimes. I can’t wait for the day when we can lock the door on our own little house and make a home for us all. I love you Ade and Thank You once again for all your support. As long as we have each other, we can over come these problems. xxx

Leave a Reply

