• Archives

  • Post Catagories

  • .::Admin Tools::.

  • I review for the O'Reilly Blogger Review Program

Should I stay or should I go…

Sometimes in recovery and life in general we are all faced with choices. I too am not immune to these choices. No matter how well we think we plan things, they never turn out as we would imagine. I have been working for one organisation for a while now and I have grown to really like my work colleagues. I have an interview pending with this organisation that could see my job role change and a new contract for another 6 months if the interview goes well and they want me.

I have been for an interview with another organisation and have been offered a job. The organisation is much smaller than the one that I am working for at the moment and naturally I don’t know the people I will be working with.

I think deep down I have been wanting to extend my time in my current situation because I have grown accustomed to the people I work with and the practices and work flow within the organisation, even though I do not enjoy my work there.

I guess in this respect my thinking is no different to my past Alcoholic thinking. I don’t like it but I will keep doing it anyway because I know where I am with it. This type of thinking is destructive and not helpful and in my humble opinion comes as a result of being afraid of change. I would like to thank my better half Tania for pointing this out to me in a round about way.

I have come to the conclusion that the new job that I have been offered will be good for me on a number of levels. Firstly it will get me to challenge my “Fear of Change” and secondly I am actually looking forward to working there!!  

Should I stay?…..Nope….. I’m outta here!!

Leave a Reply

